Oops! It appears that you have disabled your Javascript. In order for you to see this page as it is meant to appear, we ask that you please re-enable your Javascript!
Home / Assignment / List of banks in Bangladesh

List of banks in Bangladesh

List of banks in Bangladesh

List of banks in Bangladesh. There are about nine categories of banks in Bangladesh.

  1. Central bank in Bangladesh
  2. Scheduled Banks in Bangladesh
  3. State Owned Commercial Banks in Bangladesh
  4. Specialized Banks in Bangladesh
  5. Private Commercial Banks in Bangladesh
  6. Foreign Commercial Banks in Bangladesh
  7. Non-Scheduled Banks in Bangladesh
  8. Non Bank Financial Institutions in Bangladesh
  9. Specialized Financial Institutions (Semi Formal Sector) in Bangladesh

Central bank

Bangladesh Bank: Pursuant to Bangladesh Bank Order, 1972 the Government of Bangladesh reorganized the Dhaka Branch of the State Bank of Pakistan as the central bank of the country, and named it Bangladesh Bank with retrospective effect from 16 December 1971.

Scheduled Banks

Scheduled Banks are licensed under the Bank Company Act, 1991 (Amended up to 2013).

State Owned Commercial Banks

Agrani Bank Limited

BASIC Bank Limited

Janata Bank Limited

Rupali Bank Limited

Sonali Bank Limited

Bangladesh Development Bank Limited

Specialized Banks

Bangladesh Krishi Bank

Rajshahi Krishi Unnayan Bank (RAKUB)

Shimanto bank

Palli Sanchay Bank

Ansar-VDP Unnayan Bank

Private Commercial Banks

Conventional Commercial Banks

AB Bank Limited

Bangladesh Commerce Bank Limited

Bank Asia Limited

BRAC Bank Limited

City Bank Limited

Dhaka Bank Limited

Dutch-Bangla Bank Limited

Eastern Bank Limited

IFIC Bank Limited

Jamuna Bank Limited

Meghna Bank Limited

Mercantile Bank Limited

Midland Bank Limited

Modhumoti Bank Limited

Mutual Trust Bank Limited

National Bank Limited

National Credit & Commerce Bank Limited

NRB Bank Limited

NRB Commercial Bank Limited

NRB Global Bank Limited

One Bank Limited

Premier Bank Limited

Prime Bank Limited

Pubali Bank Limited

South Bangla Agriculture & Commerce Bank Limited

Southeast Bank Limited

Standard Bank Limited

The Farmers Bank Limited

Trust Bank Limited

United Commercial Bank Limited

Uttara Bank Limited

Islamic Shariah based Commercial Banks

Al-Arafah Islami Bank Limited

EXIM Bank Limited

First Security Islami Bank Limited

ICB Islamic Bank Limited

Islami Bank Bangladesh Limited

Shahjalal Islami Bank Limited

Social Islami Bank Limited

Union Bank Limited

Foreign Commercial Banks

Bank Al-Falah Limited

Citibank N.A

Commercial Bank of Ceylon PLC

Habib Bank Limited

National Bank of Pakistan

Standard Chartered Bank

State Bank of India

Hong Kong and Shanghai Banking Corporation Limited

Woori Bank

Non-Scheduled Banks

Non-Scheduled Banks are licensed only for specific functions and objectives, and do not offer the same range of services as scheduled banks.

Ansar-VDP Unnayan Bank

Jubilee Bank

Karmashangosthan Bank

Probashi Kollyan Bank

Shimanto Bank Ltd

Non Bank Financial Institutions

Agrani SME Financing Company Limited

Bangladesh Finance and Investment Company Limited

Bangladesh Industrial Finance Company Limited

Bangladesh Infrastructure Finance Fund Limited

Bay Leasing and Investment Limited

CAPM Venture Capital and Finance Limited

Delta Brac Housing Finance Corporation Limited

Far-east Finance & Investment Limited

FAS Finance & Investment Limited

First Finance Limited

GSP Finance Company (Bangladesh) Limited

Hajj Finance Company Limited

IDLC Finance Limited

Industrial and Infrastructure Development Finance Company Limited

Industrial Promotion and Development Company of Bangladesh Limited

Infrastructure Development Company Limited

International Leasing and Financial Services Limited

Islamic Finance and Investment Limited

Lanka Bangla Finance Limited

Meridian Finance and Investment Limited

MIDAS Financing Limited

National Finance Limited

National Housing Finance and Investments Limited

People’s Leasing and Financial Services Limited

Phoenix Finance and Investments Limited

Premier Leasing & Finance Limited

Prime Finance & Investment Limited

Reliance Finance Limited

Saudi-Bangladesh Industrial & Agricultural Investment Company Limited

SEAF Bangladesh Venture Limited

The UAE-Bangladesh Investment Company Limited

Union Capital Limited

United Finance Limited

Uttara Finance and Investments Limited

Specialized Financial Institutions (Semi Formal Sector)

Grameen Bank

House Building Financial Corporation (HBFC)

Palli Karma Sahayak Foundation (PKSF)

Samabay Bank

About Mohammed Ahaduzzaman

Mr. Zaman is a Founder and Freelance Writer @ BBALectures Blog! Blogging is his passion. He loves writing on Entrepreneurship, Finances, Accounting, HR and Business Issues. By profession, He serving as Accounting Professional at Zaman Accounting.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.